Writing OO Javascript using JQuery

I’ve been doing some work recently on some personal projects and I decided to use JQuery. As a long time Prototype user I found the biggest adjustment – so far – was trying to understand what was the best way to port the object-orientated Class.create() Prototype code to JQuery.

I know the idea of Class.create() doesn’t live outside of Prototype and I know there are some alternatives but for me the replacement of Class.create() with regular JavaScript .prototype syntax is fine for now at least.

The main issue I ran into is that when calling an event hander for a particular event (like a click) in JQuery using the bind() method, there is no obvious way to bind the event handler function context to the current object. Or at least that’s what I thought.

Eventually I ended up putting the question to the SO community and I finally found the answer I was looking for – use the $.proxy JQuery helper. What a revelation! I guess the lesson is not to assume a bind() in one library will be the same as a bind() in another.

So below I have an example of how to rewrite an example OO object using Prototype first and then using JQuery. The two are equivalent as far as I can tell.

First the Prototype way:


document.observe("dom:loaded", function() {

    // create document
    APP.pageHelper = new APP.PageHelper();


});

// namespace our code
window.APP = {};

// my class
APP.PageHelper = Class.create({

  // automatically called
  initialize: function(name, sound) {
    this.myValue = "Foo";

    // attach event handlers, binding to 'this' object
    $("myButton").observe("click", this.displayMessage.bind(this))

  },

  displayMessage: function() {
    console.log("My value: " + this.myValue); // 'this' is the object not the clicked button!
  }

});

And now the JQuery way:

/* on start */
$(function() {
	
	// create document
	APP.pageHelper = new APP.PageHelper();
	// need to call init manually with jQuery
	APP.pageHelper.initialize();

});

// namespace our code
window.APP = {};

// my class (no Class.create in JQuery so code in native JS)
APP.PageHelper = function() {};

// add functions to the prototype
APP.PageHelper.prototype = {

  // automatically called
  initialize: function(name, sound) {
    this.myValue = "Foo";

	// attach event handlers, binding to 'this' object
	$("#myButton").click($.proxy(this.displayMessage, this));

  },


  displayMessage: function() {
    console.log("My value: " + this.myValue); // 'this' is the object not the clicked button!
  }

};

The main difference is the use of the $.proxy to bind to this (more info here) and the rewrite to avoid Class.create() and instead use regular JS to code the object up.

I know there are probably other ways to accomplish this, but this exploration helped me and I hope it will help others.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writing OO Javascript using JQuery

  1. Dave says:

    In the jQuery example, on line 15, you can use APP.PageHelper = function() { this.initialize() }; so that you don’t have to manually call initialize() on line 7. Also, the comment on line 20 is incorrect for this example.

Leave a Reply

